Markus Sigrist

Prof. Dr. Markus Sigrist

Relation

Retired Adjunct Professor

Contact Data

Tel.: +41 44 633 22 89

https://www.phys.ethz.ch/de/das-departement/personen/person-detail.html?persid=77957

Address

ETH Zürich
Markus Sigrist
Dep. Physik
HPZ  G 27
John-von-Neumann-Weg 9
8093 Zürich
Switzerland

Other Addresses
Markus Sigrist
Hagenwies 5
8308 Illnau
Switzerland
Organisations Retired Adjunct Professor at the Department of Physics
http://www.phys.ethz.ch/
Research Field

Development and implementation of widely tunable infrared laser sources, e.g. by difference frequency generation

Development and application of sensitive and selective monitoring methods such as multipass absorption, photoacoustics and cavity ringdown

Development of algorithms for spectral analyses of multi-component mixtures

Development of low-cost photoacoustic gas sensors

Application of laser-spectroscopic schemes in various areas (environment, agriculture and industry). Recent applications in medical diagnosis include analyses of exhaled breath, of surgical smoke (smoke production in laparoscopic surgery with electro-knives), of doping agents in urine samples as well as studies on non-invasive glucose sensing.

Curriculum Vitae

Markus W. Sigrist heads the group "Laser Spectroscopy and Sensing" at the Institute for Quantum Electronics of ETH Zurich. In 1996 he was awarded the title of Professor for Experimental Physics.

Born September 6, 1948 in Illnau ZH, he studied physics at ETH Zurich. He performed his PhD thesis in the Laboratory for Solid State Physics with Prof. F.K. Kneubühl and received his PhD degree from ETH in 1977. From 1978 to 1980 he was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California at Berkeley (USA). Back at ETH he completed his habilitation received the docent degree (Privatdozent) in 1985. After a sabbatical at Rice University in Houston, Texas (USA) in 1990, he was awarded the title of Adjunct Professor at Rice in 1994. In 2003 he was an invited professor at the Université du Littoral in Dunkerque, France.

His current research focuses on the development, implementation and application of tunable mid-infrared laser sources and sensitive detection schemes for laser-spectroscopic analyses ranging from environmental, industrial and agricultural applications to medical diagnostics.

The present teaching activities of Markus Sigrist include special courses on lasers and laser applications for students of various disciplines (engineering, physics, chemistry) as well as a course on quantum physics for students from environmental and earth sciences.

Markus Sigrist is author and co-author of over 140 publications in refereed journals as well as of several book chapters, encyclopedia series, and books. He coauthored the well-known german textbook entitled „Laser“ with F.K. Kneubühl (Vieweg+Teubner, 7th ed., 2008), and edited the book entitled „Air Monitoring by Spectroscopic Techniques“ (Wiley, New York, 1995). 

Markus Sigrist is a fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA) since 1999 and a member of various national and international societies and committees. He is a board member of the Swiss Society of Optics and Microscopy (SSOM) since 1993. He is also a member of the editorial board of various scientific journals and a regular member of international conference committees.

Membership
From: 1993
Until: -
Swiss Society for Optics and Microscopy (SSOM)
From: 1990
Until: -
Optical Society of America (OSA)
From: 1973
Until: -
Swiss Physical Society (SPS)
Honours
1999
Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA)
1994
Adjunct Professor of Rice University at Houston (Texas, USA)
Publications inResearch Collection – Publication platform of ETH Zurich
ETH Library's Knowledge Portal

Markus Sigrist

Herr Prof. Dr. Markus Sigrist

Beziehung

Titularprofessor im Ruhestand

Kontaktdaten

Tel.: +41 44 633 22 89

https://www.phys.ethz.ch/de/das-departement/personen/person-detail.html?persid=77957

Adresse

ETH Zürich
Markus Sigrist
Dep. Physik
HPZ  G 27
John-von-Neumann-Weg 9
8093 Zürich
Schweiz

Weitere Adressen
Markus Sigrist
Hagenwies 5
8308 Illnau
Schweiz
Organisatorische Zugehörigkeit Titularprofessor im Ruhestand am Departement Physik
http://www.phys.ethz.ch/
Forschungsgebiet

Entwicklung und Implementierung von breit abstimmbaren Infrarot-Laserquellen, z.B. durch Differenzfrequenzergeugung

Entwicklung und Anwendung empfindlicher und selektiver Nachweismethoden wie Multipass-Absorption, Photoakustik und "Cavity-Ringdown" 

Entwicklung von Algorithmen zur spektralen Analyse von Multikomponenten-Gemischen

Entwicklung kostengünstiger photoakustischer Gassensoren

Anwendung Laser-spektroskopischer Methoden in verschiedenen Gebieten (Umwelt, Agrarwissenschaften und Industrie). Neuste Anwendungen in medizinischer Diagnostik beinhalten Studien wie Atemluftanalysen, Analysen von  "surgical smoke" (Rauchentwicklung bei laparoskopischen chirurgislchen Eingriffen mit dem Elektroskalpell), Nachweis von Dopingmitteln in Urinproben und Studien zum nicht-invasiven Glukosenachweis.

Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Markus W. Sigrist leitet am Institut für Quantenelektronik der ETH Zürich eine Forschungsgruppe, die sich mit dem Gebiet der Laserentwicklung und spektroskopischen Anwendungen in der Spurenanalytik beschäftigt.

Geboren am 6. September 1948 in Illnau ZH, studierte er Physik an der damaligen Abteilung für Mathematik und Physik der ETH Zürich. Er doktorierte 1977 bei Professor F. Kneubühl am Laboratorium für Festkörperphysik und verbrachte anschliessend einen zweijährigen Postdoc-Aufenthalt an der University of California in Berkeley. 1985 habilitierte er sich auf dem Gebiet der Experimentalphysik an der ETH Zürich. Nach einer Gastprofessur wurde ihm 1994 von der Rice University in Houston/Texas der Titel eines Adjunct Professor verliehen und 1996 wurde er zum Professor für Experimentalphysik an der ETH ernannt. 2003 wirkte er als Gastprofessor an der Université du Littoral in Dunkerque, Frankreich.

Im Rahmen von verschiedenen, vorwiegend aus Drittmitteln finanzierten Projekten beschäftigt er sich mit seinem Forschungsteam momentan hauptsächlich mit Neuentwicklungen von abstimmbaren Infrarotlasern, Nachweismethoden und laser-spektroskopischen Anwendungen in der Analytik, die von Umwelt- und Industrie- bis zu medizinischen Themen reichen.

Seine Lehrtätigkeit umfasst Wahlfachkurse zu Lasergrundlagen und -anwendungen für Studierende aus Ingenieurwissenschaften, Physik und Chemie, wie auch eine Vorlesung zur Quantenphysik für Studierende der Umweltnatur- und Erdwissenschaften.

Markus Sigrist ist Autor und Co-Autor von über 140 Veröffentlichungen in Fachzeitschriften wie auch von diversen Buchkapiteln, Beiträgen in Enzyklopädien und von Lehrbüchern. So ist er zusammen mit F.K. Kneubühl auch Autor des bekannten Buches "Laser" (Vieweg+Teubner, 7. Auflage 2008) und gab das Buch "Air Monitoring by Spectroscopic Techniques" (Wiley, New York, 1995) heraus.

Seit 1999 ist er Fellow der Optical Society of America und als Mitglied bzw. Vorstandsmitglied in verschiedenen internationalen und nationalen Fachgesellschaften und Kommissionen tätig (z.B. als Vorstandsmitglied der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Optik und Mikroskopie (SSOM)). Er wirkt auch im Editorial Board verschiedener Fachzeitschriften mit und ist reguläres Mitglied von internationalen Konferenzkomitees.

Mitgliederschaft
Von: 1993
Bis: -
Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Optik und Mikroskopie (SSOM)
Von: 1990
Bis: -
Amerikanische Optische Gesellschaft (OSA)
Von: 1973
Bis: -
Schweizerische Physikalische Gesellschaft (SPG)
Ehrungen
1999
Fellow der Amerikanischen Optischen Geselllschaft (OSA)
1994
Adjunct Professor an der Rice University, Houston (Texas, USA)
Publikationen inResearch Collection – Publikationsplattform der ETH Zürich
Wissensportal der ETH-Bibliothek