Maksym Kovalenko

Prof. Dr. Maksym Kovalenko

Relation

Full Professor

Contact Data

Tel.: +41 44 633 41 56

Address

ETH Zürich
Maksym Kovalenko
Lab. für Anorganische Chemie
HCI  H 139
Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 1-5/10
8093 Zürich
Switzerland

Other Addresses
Maksym Kovalenko
Lab. für Anorganische Chemie
HCI H139
Vladimir Prelog Weg 1
8093 Zürich
Switzerland
Organisations Full Professor at the Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences
http://www.chab.ethz.ch/
Research Field

The research activities of Maksym Kovalenko cover various aspects of chemical synthesis, surface functionalization, self-assembly and applications of colloidal nanostructures. His goals are to develop novel functional materials for energy supplying and energy storing purposes. The scope of studied nanomaterials range from metals and semiconductors to magnetic metal oxides.

Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Maksym Kovalenko has been an Assistant Professor (Tenure-track) of Inorganic Functional Materials at the Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry, Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences since 2011. He is also affiliated with EMPA, the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology.

He was born 1982 in Ukraine.

Maksym Kovalenko studied chemistry at the Chernivtsi National University, Ukraine, where he received his Master degree in 2004 (inorganic chemistry, with honors). He earned his PhD degree in technical sciences (nanoscience and nanotechnology) 2007 (summa cum laude) from the Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria. His doctoral studies concerned synthesis and applications of colloidal nanocrystals in infrared optical devices. For a postdoctoral training, Maksym Kovalenko joined the group of Prof. Dmitri Talapin at the University of Chicago, Department of Chemistry, 2008-2011. At the University of Chicago, USA, he developed a novel strategy for the surface modification of colloidal nanostructures, which opened new and exciting opportunities in nanomaterial-based electronic, optoelectronic, electrochemical and catalytic applications.

Additional Information

Professor Kovalenko is co-holder of two patents related to applications of nanomaterials in solid-state devices.

Course Catalogue
529-0199-00L Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry
Publications inResearch Collection – Publication platform of ETH Zurich
ETH Library Search Portal (advanced search for name)

Maksym Kovalenko

Herr Prof. Dr. Maksym Kovalenko

Beziehung

Ordentlicher Professor

Kontaktdaten

Tel.: +41 44 633 41 56

Adresse

ETH Zürich
Maksym Kovalenko
Lab. für Anorganische Chemie
HCI  H 139
Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 1-5/10
8093 Zürich
Schweiz

Weitere Adressen
Maksym Kovalenko
Lab. für Anorganische Chemie
HCI H139
Vladimir Prelog Weg 1
8093 Zürich
Schweiz
Organisatorische Zugehörigkeit Ordentlicher Professor am Departement Chemie und Angewandte Biowissenschaften
http://www.chab.ethz.ch/
Forschungsgebiet

Professor Kovalenkos Forschungstätigkeit umfasst verschiedene Aspekte der chemischen Synthese, die Oberflächenfunktionalisierung sowie Selbstorganisationsprozesse und Anwendungen von kolloidalen Nanostrukturen. Ziel dabei ist die Entwicklung neuartiger Funktionsmaterialien für die Energieversorgung und Energiespeicherung. Die Bandbreite der untersuchten Nanomaterialien reicht von Metallen und Halbleitern bis hin zu magnetischen Metalloxiden.

Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Maksym Kovalenko ist seit 2011 (Tenure-Track-) Assistenzprofessor für anorganische Funktionsmaterialien am Laboratorium für Anorganische Chemie, Department Chemie und Angewandte Biowissenschaften. Er ist zudem an die Eidgenössische Materialprüfungs- und Forschungsanstalt (EMPA) angegliedert.

Er ist 1982 in der Ukraine geboren.

Maksym Kovalenko studierte Chemie an der Nationalen Universität Czernowitz, Ukraine, wo er 2004 mit einem Master (Schwerpunkt anorganische Chemie) abschloss. 2007 promovierte er im Bereich technische Wissenschaften (Nanowissenschaften und Nanotechnologie, summa cum laude) an der Johannes-Kepler-Universität Linz in Österreich. Seine Dissertation beschäftigte sich mit der Synthese und Anwendung von kolloidalen Nanokristallen in optischen Infrarotgeräten. Als Postdoktorand setzte Maksym Kovalenko seine Ausbildung von 2008 bis 2011 in der Gruppe von Prof. Dmitri Talapin an der University of Chicago, Departement Chemie, fort. Dort entwickelte er eine neuartige Strategie zur Oberflächenmodifizierung von kolloidalen Nanostrukturen, aus der sich neue, bahnbrechende Möglichkeiten für nanomaterialgestützte Anwendungen im Bereich Elektronik, Optoelektronik, Elektrochemie und Katalysatoren ergeben.

Weitere Informationen

Professor Kovalenko ist Mitinhaber von zwei Patenten für Anwendungen von Nanomaterialien in Festkörperbauelementen.

Vorlesungsverzeichnis
529-0122-00L Inorganic Chemistry II
529-0134-01L Functional Inorganics
529-0199-00L Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry
529-0948-00L Solid State Chemistry
Publikationen inResearch Collection – Publikationsplattform der ETH Zürich
Suchportal der ETH-Bibliothek (erweiterte Suche nach Namen)