Edwin Zea Escamilla

Dr. Edwin Zea Escamilla

Contact Data

Tel.: +41 44 633 21 53

https://sc.ibi.ethz.ch/en/people/person-detail.MTc3MDM1.TGlzdC85MDAsLTE2MjM2NDkwMjc=.html
ORCID: 0000-0002-8677-161X

Address

ETH Zürich
Edwin Zea Escamilla
Inst. Bau-&Infrastrukturmanagement
HIL  F 28.2
Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5
8093 Zürich
Switzerland

Organisations Staff of Habert, Guillaume
http://www.sc.ibi.ethz.ch/en/
Research Field
  • Bio-based materials
  • Circular Economy
  • Life Cycle Cost Assessment
  • Post-disaster Reconstruction
  • Life cycle assessment sensitivity and uncertainties
  • Life cycle assessment evaluation methods
  • Environmental savings potential from the use of bamboo in construction
Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Edwin Zea Escamilla studied architecture in Colombia and withholds a MSc in Urban Environmental Management from Wageningen University(NL). In 2010 he started working as a research assistant at the Chair of Sustainable Construction at ETH Zurich and received his doctoral degree in 2016. His research focus on the life cycle and sustainability analysis of construction materials and buildings. Edwin Zea undertook further education at the ETH Zürich and the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland (Institute of Energy in Building) in the fields of Geographic Information Systems, project management for research, and energy efficiency in buildings. Prior to his doctoral thesis, he worked in consulting and has collaborated with various NGOs, companies and universities in Switzerland, the Netherlands and Colombia

In August 2016, Edwin was appointed as Head of Sustainable Building and Real Estate at the Centre for Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability (CCRS) at the University of Zürich. During this time, Edwin continued working on national and international research projects dealing with bio-based materials, circular economy, CO2 issues, and sustainable construction specially looking at challenges and opportunities in the real estate markets.

Edwin is member of the Bamboo Construction Task Force of the International Organization for Bamboo and Ratan and was appointed Topic Editor by the Journal Sustainability (MDPI) in 2019. Edwin is also co-organizer of the International Symposium on Bio-Based materials and structures.

 

Curriculum Vitae (CV) as PDFDownload
Membership
From: 18. March 2020
Until: -
From: 12. August 2016
Until: -
Honours
1. July 2012
Fellowship from HILTI AG for doctorate studies at the ETH Zürich
Additional Information

 Publications

Publications inResearch Collection – Publication platform of ETH Zurich
ETH Library Search Portal (advanced search for name)

Edwin Zea Escamilla

Herr Dr. Edwin Zea Escamilla

Kontaktdaten

Tel.: +41 44 633 21 53

https://sc.ibi.ethz.ch/en/people/person-detail.MTc3MDM1.TGlzdC85MDAsLTE2MjM2NDkwMjc=.html
ORCID: 0000-0002-8677-161X

Adresse

ETH Zürich
Edwin Zea Escamilla
Inst. Bau-&Infrastrukturmanagement
HIL  F 28.2
Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5
8093 Zürich
Schweiz

Organisatorische Zugehörigkeit Mitarbeiter bei Professur für Nachhaltiges Bauen
http://www.sc.ibi.ethz.ch/
Forschungsgebiet

Biobasierte Materialien

Kreislaufwirtschaft

Lebenszykluskosten

Wiederaufbau nach einer Katastrophe

Sensitivität und Unsicherheiten bei der Bewertung des Lebenszyklus

Bewertungsmethoden für die Ökobilanz

Umweltsparpotenzial durch die Verwendung von Bambus im Bauwesen

Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Edwin Zea Escamilla studierte Architektur in Kolumbien und hat einen MSc in Urban Environmental Management von der Wageningen University (NL). 2010 begann er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Nachhaltiges Bauen der ETH Zürich zu arbeiten und promovierte 2016. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Lebenszyklus- und Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse von Baumaterialen und Gebäuden. Edwin Zea absolvierte Weiterbildungs an der ETH Zürich und der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (Institut für Energie im Bauwesen) in den Bereichen Geografische Informationssysteme, Projektmanagement für Forschung und Energieeffizienz in Gebäuden. Vor seiner Doktorarbeit war er in der Beratung tätig und hat mit verschiedenen NGOs, Unternehmen und Universitäten in der Schweiz, den Niederlanden und Kolumbien zusammengearbeitet

Im August 2016 wurde Edwin zum Leiter für nachhaltiges Bauen und Immobilien am Zentrum für Unternehmensverantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit (CCRS) @ Universität Zürich ernannt. Während dieser Zeit arbeitete Edwin weiter an nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten, die sich mit biobasierten Materialien, Kreislaufwirtschaft, CO2-Themen und nachhaltigem Bauen befassten.

Edwin ist Mitglied der Bamboo Construction Task Force der Internationalen Organisation für Bambus und Ratan (INBAR) und wurde 2019 vom Journal Sustainability (MDPI) zum Themenredakteur ernannt. Edwin ist auch Mitorganisator des Internationalen Symposiums für biobasierte Materialien und Strukturen.

Curriculum Vitae (CV) als PDFDownload
Mitgliederschaft
Von: 18. März 2020
Bis: -
Von: 12. August 2016
Bis: -
Ehrungen
1. Juli 2012
Fellowship from HILTI AG for doctorate studies at the ETH Zürich
Weitere Informationen

Publikationen

Publikationen inResearch Collection – Publikationsplattform der ETH Zürich
Suchportal der ETH-Bibliothek (erweiterte Suche nach Namen)