Karl W. Haltiner

Prof. Dr. Karl W. Haltiner

Relation

Retired Adjunct Professor

Contact Data

Organisations Retired Adjunct Professor at the Department of Humanities, Social and Political Sciences
http://www.gess.ethz.ch/
Curriculum Vitae

Karl W. Haltiner teaches sociology and military sociology at the Military Academy at the ETH Zurich. Together with the Center for Security Studies and Conflict Research he is the editor of the publication series "Sicherheit" (security) which surweys trends in public opinions of foreign policy, security policy and defence matters. He was awarded the title of Professor at the ETH Zurich in 2001.



Karl W. Haltiner, a citizen of Altstätten SG, was born on September 3, 1946. After a vocational training he went back to school and graduated in Economics and Sociology from the University of Berne in 1979. He subsequently worked for 6 years as an assistant at the Institute for Sociology at the University of Berne dealing with projects concerning youth and value change research. One of the major projects was the national research program Nr. 11 "Security Policy". In the eighties he worked on various research projects in the USA. Between 1985 and 1990 he was a senior lecturer for economics and sociology at the Fachhochschule (University of applied sciences) in Brugg-Windisch. In 1987 he became a lecturer for military sociology at the ETH Zurich and in 1990 he was appointed full-time lecturer at the Swiss Military College. He is a member of various national and international bodies and research groups. From 1996 to 1998 he served as chairman of the European Research Group on Military and Society (ERGOMAS). He is also a member of the Foundation Council of the Geneva Centre for Security Policy and of the Advisory Board of the Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces. Furthermore he is the scientific director of the Federal Youth and Recruit Survey "ch-X".



Karl W. Haltiner regularly publishes articles in Swiss and foreign journals on issues such as social change, national and international security policy and on the question of legitimation and integration of armed forces in modern societies.

EventsEvents Calendar
Publications inResearch Collection – Publication platform of ETH Zurich
ETH Library's Knowledge Portal

Karl W. Haltiner

Herr Prof. Dr. Karl W. Haltiner

Beziehung

Titularprofessor im Ruhestand

Kontaktdaten

Organisatorische Zugehörigkeit Titularprofessor im Ruhestand am Departement Geistes-, Sozial- und Staatswissenschaften
http://www.gess.ethz.ch/
Curriculum Vitae

Karl W. Haltiner lehrt Soziologie und Militärsoziologie an der Militärakademie an der ETH Zürich. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Forschungsstelle für Sicherheitspolitik und Konfliktanalyse der ETH Zürich leitet er die Studienreihe "Sicherheit" zur aussen-, sicherheits- und verteidigungspolitischen Meinungsbildung in der Schweiz. Er ist seit 2001 Titularprofessor der ETH.



Karl W. Haltiner, geboren am 3. September 1946, von Altstätten SG, holte die Hochschulreife auf dem zweiten Bildungsweg nach und studierte von 1974 bis 1979 Volkswirtschaftslehre und Soziologie an der Universität Bern. In den anschliessenden 6 Jahren als Assistent am Institut für Soziologie der Universität Bern beschäftigte er sich mit diversen Projekten der Jugend- und Wertwandelsforschung, unter anderem auch im nationalen Forschungsprogramm Nr. 11 "Sicherheitspolitik". Er verbrachte in den achtziger Jahren mehrere kurze Studienaufenthalte in den USA. Von 1985 bis 1990 lehrte er als hauptamtlicher Dozent für Volkswirtschaftslehre und Soziologie an der Fachhochschule Brugg-Windisch und seit 1987 unterrichtete er im Lehrauftrag Militärsoziologie an der ETH Zürich. 1990 wurde er zum hauptamtlichen Dozenten an die Militärische Führungsschule gewählt. Er ist Mitglied zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler Fach- und Forschungsorganisationen. Unter anderem leitetete er von 1996 bis 1998 als Chairman die European Research Group on Military and Society (ERGOMAS). Er ist Mitglied im Foundation Council des Geneva Centre for Security Policy und im Advisory Board des Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces. Ferner betreut er als Wissenschaftlicher Leiter die Eidgenössischen Jugend- und Rekrutenbefragungen "ch-X".



Karl W. Haltiner pubuliziert regelmässig in in- und ausländischen Fachzeitschriften zu Fragen des sozialen Wandels, der nationalen und internationalen Sicherheitspolitik sowie zur Legitimation und Integration von Streitkräften in modernen Gesellschaften.

VeranstaltungenVeranstaltungskalender
Publikationen inResearch Collection – Publikationsplattform der ETH Zürich
Wissensportal der ETH-Bibliothek