Ursula Spichiger-Keller

Prof. Dr. Ursula Spichiger-Keller

Relation

Retired Adjunct Professor

Contact Data

Tel.: +41 43 477 85 55
Fax: +41 43 477 85 57

http://www.c-cit.ch

Address

Ursula Spichiger-Keller
C-CIT AG
Einsiedlerstr. 29
8820 Wädenswil
Switzerland

Organisations Retired Adjunct Professor at the Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences
http://www.chab.ethz.ch/
Curriculum Vitae

Ursula E. Spichiger-Keller has been founder and director of the Centre for Chemical Sensors (CCS) since April 1994. Sie received the venia legendi in 1995 in the field of Analytical Chemistry/Chemical Sensors-Biosensors at the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences. In Mai 1999 she was given the title of Professor.



Born in Zurich on June 9th, 1943, Ursula Spichiger graduated from pharmacy at ETH-Zürich. She became an assistent and teacher at the Central Laboratory for Clinical Chemistry at the University Hospital Zurich under Prof. H. Rosenmund. Under Prof. D.J. Vonderschmitt, she was an assistent at ETH Zurich and at the new Institute for Clinical Chemistry at University Zurich, and she applied for writing a Ph.D.-thesis (1980-89). 1988 she was invited to write the habilitation thesis under the supervision of Prof. W. Simon in Analytical Chemistry at the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry. The main topic was devoted to the development of magnesium-selective electrodes and chemical sensors generally. As an assistent and senior researcher, Ursula Spichiger was involved in teaching in Analytical Chemistry, Advanced courses III to V.



Projects are focused on the development of chemiscal sensors, biosensors and analytical procedures which involve chemical sensors as well as related analytical and bioanalytical techniques. Specific projects are in molecular recognition, development of physico-chemical probes, labeling, and development of devices with specific analytical features.



She is a cofounder of EURACHEM Swiss. She was president of the Scientific Board of the Institute for Bioprocess- and Analytical Technology (iba), Heiligenstadt, (1998-2000) and was a member of the Directory Board of the project -Aufbau und Betrieb eines chemisch-analytischen Referenzlabors in der Schweiz" at EMPA St. Gallen (1997-2000). Since 2001 she is a member of the Swiss Federal Commission of Metrology (EKM) as representative of "Analytical Chemistry". Awards: In 1989, the dissertation was awarded the ETH silver medal; 1994 Biomed-Price, 1996 Hewlett-Packard Grant; 1996 Price of Technologie-Standort Schweiz; 2001 -Sandmeyer Prize- donated by the New Swiss Chemical Society (NSCG) for successful collaboration with the industry. She is autor of 160 publications and a book; she has applied for 7 patents and has founded the ETH spin-off company C-CIT AG (www.c-cit.ch) in 2001. In 1969, she was involved in first evaluations of thepotassium-selective electrode in human blood serum developed by L. Pioda.



Monography -Chemical Sensors and Biosensors for Medical and Biological Applications-, Wiley-VCH GmbH, Weinheim, 1998.

Publications inResearch Collection – Publication platform of ETH Zurich
ETH Library's Knowledge Portal

Ursula Spichiger-Keller

Frau Prof. Dr. Ursula Spichiger-Keller

Beziehung

Titularprofessorin im Ruhestand

Kontaktdaten

Tel.: +41 43 477 85 55
Fax: +41 43 477 85 57

http://www.c-cit.ch

Adresse

Ursula Spichiger-Keller
C-CIT AG
Einsiedlerstr. 29
8820 Wädenswil
Schweiz

Organisatorische Zugehörigkeit Titularprofessorin im Ruhestand am Departement Chemie und Angewandte Biowissenschaften
http://www.chab.ethz.ch/
Curriculum Vitae

Ursula E. Spichiger-Keller ist Gründerin und Leiterin des Zentrums für Chemische Sensoren (CCS) (Eröffnung April 1994). Sie habilitierte sich 1995 auf dem Gebiet der Analytischen Chemie/Chemische Sensoren-Biosensoren am Institut für Pharmezeutische Wissenschaften und ist seit Mai 1999 Titularprofessorin.



Am 9. Juni 1943 in Zürich geboren, studierte Ursula Spichiger an der ETH-Zürich Pharmazie. Nach dem Staatsexamen bekleidete sie die Stelle einer Assistentin mit Lehrverpflichtung bei Prof. H. Rosenmund am Zentrallaboratorium für Klinische Chemie am Universitätsspital Zürich. Unter der Leitung von Prof. D.J. Vonderschmitt hatte sie Gelegenheit die Dissertation nachzuholen (1980-89). 1988 wurde sie von Prof. W. Simon eingeladen sich am Laboratorium für Organische Chemie in Analytischer Chemie zu habilitieren. Hauptarbeitsgebiet war die Entwicklung von Magnesium-selektiven Elektroden und Chemischen Sensoren allgemein. Als Assistentin und Oberassistentin beteiligte sich Ursula Spichiger am Unterricht in Analytischer Chemie (Analytische Chemie III bis V).



Das Arbeitsgebiet umfasst alle Bereiche, die mit der Entwicklung von Chemischen Sensoren, Biosensoren und deren Einführung in die Analysenmesstechnik zu tun haben.: Molekulare Erkennung, Labeling und Transduction, Anwendung physikalischer Messtechniken und Analytische Charakterisierung/Quality assessment.



Sie ist Mitgründerin der Gruppe EURACHEM Schweiz. Sie war Vorsitzende des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Instituts für Bioprozess- und Analysenmesstechnik, Heiligenstadt, und im Steuerungsausschuss zum Aufbau und Betrieb eines chemisch-analytischen Referenzlabors in der Schweiz an der EMPA St. Gallen (1997-2000). Seit 2001 ist sie Mitglied der Eidgenössischen Meteorologischen Kommission (EMK). Ehrungen: 1989 Prämierung der Dissertation mit der Silbermedaille der ETH, 1994 Biomed-Preis, 1996 Hewlett-Packard Grant, 1996 Preis Technologie-Standort Schweiz, 2001 Sandmeyer-Preis. Sie ist Autorin von 160 Publikationen und einem Buch, sie hat 7 Patente angemeldet und ist Gründerin der ETH spin-off Firma C-CIT AG. 1969 hat Sie zusammen mit L. Pioda die ersten Versuche zur Messung von Kaliumionen im menschlichen Blutserum ausgeführt.



Monographie -Chemical Sensors and Biosensors for Medical and Biological Applications-, Wiley-VCH GmbH, Weinheim, 1998.

Publikationen inResearch Collection – Publikationsplattform der ETH Zürich
Wissensportal der ETH-Bibliothek